When did we lose our urge to play?

I am currently working with a client who is part of a small team. They have engaged me to create a space where they can explore the way they work together. Their hope is to become more innovative and collaborative across the team. Sounds familiar doesn’t it.

In recent conversations I sensed a palpable aversion to playing games. They have been burned in the past by consultants using games that made them uncomfortable. I have probably been guilty of this myself in the past. But for me it begs a broader question … When did we lose our urge to play? More importantly, how do we recapture our natural instinct to move, laugh and work together in new ways?

I’ll be taking a leaf of courage from the AIN Community and apply improv more in 2012.

Geoff Brown

Your turn...

